#ReadThemAllThon Update (#3)

pokemon-reading.gifIt’s time for another #ReadThemAllThon update, which means that I’ve finished another book! Also, for those of you who don’t know about it, #ReadThemAllThon is a readathon which is Pokémon / Pokémon GO themed!

For info about the readathon, you can read my sign up post for it here. As you may know (if you’ve read my last two updates), I had a bit of a wonky start due to not having finished Nevernight when the tumblr_nnfzkzDz9k1tugqqno1_400readathon started, and then suffering from an intense book hangover afterward. I managed to push through, though, and read This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab at a relatively okay speed, all things considered. Haha. I finished and reviewed This Savage Song, and then moved on to Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter.

Continue reading

Cinder by Marissa Meyer [Review]

cinder-book-coverTitle: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Type: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-Fi
Publisher: Square Fish
Date published: January 3, 2012
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 387
Source: Personal purchase.

SummaryHumans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Continue reading

#ReadThemAllThon Update [#2]

pokemon-reading.gifAnd it’s time for another #ReadThemAllThon update! For those of you who don’t know about it, #ReadThemAllThon is a readathon which is Pokémon / Pokémon GO themed!

For info about the readathon, you can read my sign up post for it here.
As you may know (if you’ve read my last update), I had a bit of a wonky start due to not having finished Nevernight when the tumblr_nnfzkzDz9k1tugqqno1_400readathon started, and then suffering from an intense book hangover afterward. I managed to push through, though, and read This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab at a relatively okay speed, all things considered. Haha. I finished and reviewed This Savage Song, and then moved on to Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter.

Continue reading

Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter [ARC Review]

51B0wt0bGFL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Title: Ghostly Echoes
Author: William Ritter
Type: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult, Adult
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Date published: August 23, 2016
Format: E-book
Page Count: 348
Source: NetGalley

An e-copy of this book was kindly provided through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Summary:  “Tread lightly, Miss Rook,” warned Mr. Jackaby. “It would not do to push Miss Cavanaugh too far or too fast.”

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder–her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all.

Continue reading

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab [Review]

this_savage_song_coverTitle: This Savage Song
Author: Victoria / V.E. Schwab
Type: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult, Adult
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Date published: July 5, 2016
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 427 (+23 Intro) = 450
Source: Personal purchase.

SummaryThere’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

Continue reading

#ReadThemAllThon Update

pokemon-reading.gifAs I will not be making many blog posts for the next few weeks, other than reviews (probably), I thought that I should at least put up some updates about the first readathon which I am participating in….#ReadThemAllThon!

For info about the readathon, you can read my sign up post for it here.

sticker,375x360.u2So, thus far…I have had a bit of a late start because I was still reading Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (my review for which you can find here) when the readathon started. Once I was finished Nevernight, I was also experiencing quite an intense book hangover! I’m still not over it really, and I’m worried that it may have influenced my experience with Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song, which is the first book I chose to read for the contest.

Continue reading

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff [ARC Review]

26114463Title: Nevernight
Author: Jay Kristoff
Type: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult, Adult
Publisher: Macmillan Publishers, Thomas Dunne Books
Date published: August 9, 2016
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 444
Source: Macmillan Publishers

A physical ARC copy of the book was kindly provided by the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

SummaryIn a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Continue reading