Stranger Things 2 Book Tag

Stranger Things 2 Book Tag Top.png

Welcome to the Stranger Things book tag! If you have not watched season 2 of Stranger Things all the way to the end and still intend to, I highly recommend that you do not read past this point! There are spoilers galore! (But there is a tag for those who have watched season 1, and you can find it here!)

tumblr_oxs388pCzT1qic8ixo10_1280

For those of you who have finished the 2nd season, and miss the setting and characters as much as I do, please read on! This tag was created by myself, Harker from The Hermit Librarian, Tris from Tris’ Nook, and Breeny from Breeny’s Books! And I’d like to thank the 3 of them one more time, because I could not have finished compiling this tag without them!

Continue reading

Stranger Things Book Tag (Take 2)

Stranger Things Book Tag 1B.png

I was tagged by Pore Over the Pages to do the Stranger Things Book Tag the first time in August of last year, and you can check my first completion of the tag here! So, you’re probably wondering why I’m doing the tag again, when no one else has tagged me to do it? Well, let me tell you! I finished watching season 2 of Stranger Things…well, just a day or two after the episodes were released, and then I was left wanting more. So I decided to reboot this tag with new graphics and to see if any of my choices for each category have changed! This tag was originally created by A Running Commentary, but when I clicked on the link to their page, it took me to an entirely different blog. So, I don’t know what happened to them. If any of you know, or if you are A Running Commentary, please let me know!

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday (#5): Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Would Like (If You Had One)

top-ten-tuesday-halloween-edition

As you may have noticed, I am using my Halloween-themed Top Ten Tuesday thingy…because I refuse to acknowledge that Halloween is over!!!! And now, to more important matters…this week’s prompt:

“Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes _______________ (if your book club likes historical fiction, inspiring stories, YA books, non-fiction, controversial books to debate about, or pick a specific book).”

Continue reading

#ReadThemAllThon Update [#2]

pokemon-reading.gifAnd it’s time for another #ReadThemAllThon update! For those of you who don’t know about it, #ReadThemAllThon is a readathon which is Pokémon / Pokémon GO themed!

For info about the readathon, you can read my sign up post for it here.
As you may know (if you’ve read my last update), I had a bit of a wonky start due to not having finished Nevernight when the tumblr_nnfzkzDz9k1tugqqno1_400readathon started, and then suffering from an intense book hangover afterward. I managed to push through, though, and read This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab at a relatively okay speed, all things considered. Haha. I finished and reviewed This Savage Song, and then moved on to Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter.

Continue reading

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab [Review]

this_savage_song_coverTitle: This Savage Song
Author: Victoria / V.E. Schwab
Type: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult, Adult
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Date published: July 5, 2016
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 427 (+23 Intro) = 450
Source: Personal purchase.

SummaryThere’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

Continue reading

#ReadThemAllThon Update

pokemon-reading.gifAs I will not be making many blog posts for the next few weeks, other than reviews (probably), I thought that I should at least put up some updates about the first readathon which I am participating in….#ReadThemAllThon!

For info about the readathon, you can read my sign up post for it here.

sticker,375x360.u2So, thus far…I have had a bit of a late start because I was still reading Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (my review for which you can find here) when the readathon started. Once I was finished Nevernight, I was also experiencing quite an intense book hangover! I’m still not over it really, and I’m worried that it may have influenced my experience with Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song, which is the first book I chose to read for the contest.

Continue reading